Louisiana Sheriffs' Pension & Relief Fund



1225 Nicholson Drive • Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802 www.lsprf.com



Executive Director Osey McGee, Jr.

Legal Counsel Robert D. Klausner

Actuary Gary S. Curran

TRUSTEES President Sheriff Larry C. Deen

Secretary-Treasurer

Sheriff William Earl Hilton **Active Sheriffs**

Willy Martin Mike Waguespack Jeffrey F. Wiley **Retired Sheriffs**

Charles C. Foti, Jr. Wayne F. McElveen J. R. Oakes

Active Deputies Calvin K. McFerrin Ronald J. Morse Don Rittenberry **Retired Deputies**

Joey Alcede Laura T. Endsley Graham Hendricks

Ex-Officio Sen. D. A. Gautreaux Rep. Joel Robideaux

Phone: (225) 219-0500 • (800) 586-9049 • FAX: (225) 219-0521

TO: Parish Liaisons

FROM: Keith Duplechain

DATE: November 9, 2009

SUBJECT: Limited Membership

Applicants for membership are required to complete the enrollment process within six months of their date of employment. Should the process not be completed within the six-month period, the applicant will not begin vesting for disability benefits (10 years of service) until the enrollment process is completed, although the applicant begins to vest for regular retirement benefits (12 years of service) from the date of employment. The member will be placed in "limited membership" status until the enrollment process is completed.

The date of completion, if later than six months from the date of employment, becomes the date from which the member will begin to accrue service credit for disability vesting. Members who do not complete the enrollment process and are injured in-the-line-of-duty will be required to prove the disability was not due to preexisting conditions. [R.S. 11:2181A]

/rp

Serving Those Who Serve